For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that when it comes to children in their school years, teachers exert a greater impact on their intelligence and social development than their parents. I totally agree with this view and my reasons are stated below.

The main reason why I believe that teachers play a more important role than parents in fostering children’s intelligence is that the little ones spend the majority of their learning time in class. While parents mostly dedicate their time at home to playing with or to catering for the needs of their offsprings, teachers are responsible for the transmission of knowledge and motivating the youngsters to learn. As a result, children would develop basic concepts of the world as well as other attributes of intelligence, namely problem-solving skills and imagination, with the help of their teachers.

Regarding children’s social skills development, I am convinced that parents pale in comparison with teachers since school boys and girls are exposed to more social contact at school than at home. This is especially true for a unique child in the family, which is becoming more common given the fight against the population explosion in developing countries, lacking opportunities of making friends of his age. In this case, by going to school and involving in teamwork activities organized and guided by teachers, such child can learn to work with his peers, to argue and cooperate in various social settings.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement that teachers prevail over parents in terms of fostering the cognitive and social development of children. This can be explained by the fact that children learn much more under the guidance of teachers, and school provides better social environment than home.