Should English be made the official world language? Why, or why not?

English has proven to be the most popular spoken language globally over the last centuries. Some people believe that as we are living in such a rapid changing world and dealing with globalization everyday, it is time to come up with one unique language and English is a worthy considerable option. However, many people may have a different point of view about this issue.

Firstly, apparently using one simple language for expressing thoughts and emotions like English across nations will be most likely to break barriers in cultures and release discrimination among the peoples. Exchanging knowledge and experiences should be no longer an obstacle and way much faster than ever before, especially between developed and developing countries, making the world together move towards common goals. Furthermore, along with the reduction of misunderstanding, people coming from a wide range of regions, religions or races would have an opportunity to better cooperate and be more empathy to each other.

Nevertheless, it is argued that there is no possible way for all human’s cultures can be mixed in one single language as the diversity among them has been way overwhelming for thousands of years, ever since the beginning of mankind. Besides, it is hard to convince all people in the world to change their original language into another one since they all have the pride of their own traditional languages and customs.

In conclusion, although the world would probably be a better place if everybody agreed using only English as an unique way of communication, I believe such kind of vision may never come to reality.