Should self-driving cars be legal?

Back to the 1900s, if we mentioned about an autonomous moving car to the society, the only thing that came up to their mind would be irrational or supernatural. At the time being, when the advanced technology is gradually developing, we manage to bring self-driving cars from science-fiction into life. However, magnificent as it may sound, this brand-new invention leads to numerous consideration since it can be operated without drivers. Therefore, it must be illegal to own a self-driving car due to three main factors.

First of all, it costs a lot of money to make robotic cars widely available. The government, for instance, must spend a huge amount of budget to promulgate laws for the new transportation, build roads or other infrastructures such as automatic gas station and charger booth. In developing countries, taxes are expected to improve the living standard of citizens rather than investing on glamorous technology. Moreover, since it contains a different controlling system, these cars will be quite unaffordable for rank and file workers than a manual car.

It is particularly so given the fact that autonomous cars cause more pollution. Because those cars do not need drivers, one single person absolutely can drive many cars at once for specific purpose. If a number of people do the same thing, not only will traffic congestion be increased, but carbon emission can also become serious when a majority of cars are gasoline-powered. According to americanconversation.com, unless the electricity demand of robotic vehicles increases to 25 percent in 2050, transportation is still responsible for air pollution.

Last but not least, self-driving cars can be a dangerous tool for deleterious purpose. If the national controlling system for the cars is not completely developed, hackers and terrorists may take advantage of the so-called technical mistake to form fatal crashes. Then, they might blame a software companies and turn a criminal case into a pitiful accident. Some can even go anonymous to avoid penalty. When there is no driver, it is more difficult to identify, control or charge the owner of the car.

There has been some assertion that self-driving cars without drivers can reduce traffic accidents, or at least, human casualties. In fact, cars performed by AI may worsen the those accidents due to its inhumanity. For example, BBC News has already reported a case in which a robotic car struck and killed a woman in Arizona because it could not recognize her as a human. Robots always work based on a programme, while humans, from clothes to biological characteristics, are too distinctive for them to analyse. As a result, injuries caused by robots seem more cruel and calculated.

By way of conclusion, self-driving cars should not be legal for its cost burden, more pollution, and potential danger. No one should be hurted by a robotic car just to receive a small insurance fee as an apology. If a person want to depend on autonomous vehicles, he should focus on a perfect artificial intelligence, which we can expected in the near future.