Smoking should be prohibited in all public places even though it would restrict some of people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree?

Discussions in regards to the limitations imposed by the authorities have always been on the agenda in the modern society. There is an opinion that individuals should be prohibited to smoke in social areas despite the fact that such prohibition potentially constrains the rights of those who enjoy having a cigarette. I completely agree with this statement and believe that freedom is only positive until it commences to violate someone else’s one.

Firstly, smoking a cigarette when surrounded by non-smoking people is an example of highly irresponsible behaviour. This is because passive smoking is proven to be noxious for those who happen to inhale the fume emanating from a burning cigarette. Therefore, a smoker negatively affecting their own health by their own choice also ends up being dangerous for other innocent people. For example, the relevant study conducted by WHO in 2018 shows that people undergoing the constant impact of passive smoking are receiving 60% more adverse substances in their lungs which in its turn leads to dreadful diseases including cancer. In other words, the health damage brought by public smoking is too significant to neglect.

Secondly, the scent of cigarette smoke is both disgusting and contagious. It means that citizens smoking nearby to others additionally foredoom them to distribute extremely unpleasant odor. Hence, influenced individuals appear to become less attractive which affects the quality of their social life and, therefore, deteriorates their well-being. For instance, a recent survey held by Tinder.com shows that 88% of respondents include foul smell in their top three indicators of an unfortunate date. Thus, passive smoking appears to be a culprit of personal issues as well.

In conclusion, I am absolutely assured that prohibition of public smoking should be viewed as an indisputable boon to our society as a whole.