Social media is gradually replacing in person face to face contact with many people worldwide. Do the benefits of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In this century, direct interaction among people is gradually replaced by social media offering global communication as its remarkable benefit. I will deliberate how this view, despite some considerable disadvantages, contributes to greater advantages which will be explained in the forthcoming paragraph.

On the one side, perhaps, the demerits of relying much on social media is that this phenomenon decreases human sense compared to face-to-face communication such as facial expression or body gesture. Modern society living in metropolitan cities, then, will be more into egocentric and helpless to those who truly build interactions and need for help. Moreover, sadly, what people share in social media seems different with their real life. Followed by public attention they seek for, through manipulating story line, such individual may be stricken with star syndrome. They present images as perfect as possible, even extra effort they take which may drive them into horrible consequences.

On the other side, we should highlight some merits of this issue that social media substantially broadens social network around the world. It links users at anytime and anywhere, thus not only perceiving dynamic insight, modern generation can also be simplified through ongoing process (Trello - streamline individuals and collaborative projects) resulting in novel invention. Furthermore, free advertising products on media platforms as one of digital marketing strategies globally may increase opportunity to scale up the business. Such platforms address products (Nike and Coach) to get seen 24/7/365, establishing a new fan who becomes hyper-target audiences, specifically to make consumer purchasing decision.

In brief, I would contradict that the benefits of interaction through social media may include limitless international colleagues and scale up the business profit. Thus, this outweighs a significant drawback.