Recent research has shown that business meetings and training are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Corporate meetings and trainings are progressively being conducted online on this recent time. There are several merits and demerits from this issue which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

Considering the benefits, telecommuting may offer affordable cost of company expenses. Miller Tanner Associate presents that virtual meetings save approximately 90% training budget. Along with greater time efficiency, it can support the business growth through eliminating logistics fundings related to conference venues, food and beverages and also travel. Furthermore, flexible-time arrangements can accelerate greater employee productivity fostering work-life balance. Instead of tackling morning rush hour, remote workers can create and ideal environment while they can also enjoy their quality time with their family. Reported by University of Chicago, 40% individuals have work-from-home productivity better than their in-person productivity.

In contrast, we should emphasize some drawbacks of this issue that online meetings and trainings may incur additional support particularly infrastructure changes. Together with provider trouble and power outage, company should be consider to prepare video conference software and advance communication tools reducing cross-collaboration problems. Supported by World Development, technical issue incidents lead to decrease annual revenue almost USD 5 million. Moreover, remote employees may have career progression fears. Considering that, they may feel overlooked without a chance to adequately showcase their skills that requires them to have regular communication to reassure them to be sensible.

In summary, the positive of using virtual meetings and trainings may help saving company’s money from operational cost and engaging individual to have same opportunity for their work-life. However, the negatives of teleconference are crucial technical support and poor individual’s professional development.