Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

It is true that throughout history, people living in social groups have always made rules and laws to live in harmony with each other. While some favor a lawless society, I completely agree that the result would be disastrous if everyone were able to do whatever they want.

The first reason in favor of my argument is that the idea of crime would exist if there were no laws to act as deterrent. For example, drug trafficking, murder and traffic offences might appear and more people would commit crimes as a way of making a living. It would pose a serious threat to society and create a violent culture since there are no organizations to enforce the law and make criminals repay for their wrongdoings. This situation might benefit lawbreakers and affect lives of innocent people.

Another reason supporting my view is that such activities doing harm to the environment and people’s well-being could increase rapidly. If there are no regulations on environmental problems, the ecological crisis, which even leads to the destruction of human life, could happen. Companies will discharge chemical waste into rivers, huge fires devastating forests and destroying wildlife will happen and no one will be blamed for their actions. In addition, in terms of public health services, it would be impossible to control the outbreak of an epidemic such as the COVID-19. The spread would be very rapid if people could do whatever they wanted and no restrictions were imposed.

In conclusion, society would collapse without rules. I totally agree with the view that it is necessary to enforce regulations in order to keep the society safe and peaceful.