Some believe technology has made our lives too complex and the solution is to lead a simpler life without technology.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, society has witnessed a significant breakthrough in technological advances which have changed the living considerably. However, it is thought that technology leads to a complicated life and should be removed to solve this problem. From my perspective, I partly disagree with that statement because of several reasons.

At the first glance perspective for the matter, many a person those who thinks that technology is very complicated and should be eliminated to make a simpler life may have several arguments. At first, older may face difficulties when using electronic devices including computers, tablets, or smartphones. For instance, to make a video call on a smartphone that is connected to the Internet, people need to create an account on specific social media platforms. The elder people could not do all steps without assistances, therefore, they might feel hard to adapt to new life-upgrades. Another argument is that in the modern life, children are deeply dependent on media-devices for entertainment and ignore outdoor activities. As a consequence, that leads to adverse effects on physical and mental health because of their passivity.

Nevertheless, I firmly hold a belief that technology plays a crucial role in our life and cannot be replaced in the future for several reasons. First and foremost, thanks to rapid developments in technology, there have been improvements in teaching and learning nowadays. By way of illustration, during the time of the COVID-19 pandemic, students are not interrupted in their learning’s progress since schools deploy online learning methods on platforms via social medias such as Zoom, Microsoft Team, or Skype. Also, it is easy for students to find materials for their studies by using electronic devices connected to the Internet. The second reason is that technology helps strengthen family and friends relationships even though they live far away from each other. In fact, digital telecommunication makes it simpler, quicker, and more productive for users to communicate with people across boundaries. Social network websites, for instance, allow human beings to keep in contact with the distant relatives with only an internet-connected smartphone. The following reason can be seen that people nowadays also use technology to gain recreations and relax after their stressful working hours. This is because they can easily enjoy movies, kinds of music, or entertaining programmes directly on their internet-connected devices. This somehow pushes into the reduction of many mental illnesses in society.

To sum up, although technology has its drawbacks, it is undeniable that it has generated numerous significant positive impacts that improve our lives, and in my opinion, turning away from technology is impractical with unforeseen consequences towards living.