Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the current century, the role and influence of technology in the whole world are significantly considerable. Also, smartphones as a significant example, are not excepted. This phenomenon has affected many aspects of people's lives and of course, children. To the extent that people even cannot think about living without them. Accordingly, many are grappling with two main questions which are why children overuse these cell phones and how it would affect them. I will discuss these questions in the following.

Many psychologists and sociologists claim that we should find out the reasons for overusing smartphones with children within two main ideas. First, babies from the very beginning of their life see their parents and other relatives with their cell phones. Mostly, children behave just like their parents. In fact, their parents are their first teachers and at young ages, they imitate almost everything from them. Therefore, if parents use their phones a lot, children naturally do the same. On the other hand, smartphones are very attractive to children to the extent that they cannot put them away for a second. Because of its interesting features and applications especially different online and offline games such as Angry Birds, FIFA world cup, and other famous games which provide them with a platform to play with their friends online or make new friends. Some games make children addicted to their phones.

According to many experts' warnings, using smartphones more than two hours a day, not only does not have positive points but also negatively affects children mentally and physically with very bad consequences in older ages. A survey which has been established by a group of students at Harvard University among 5000 children between 6-12, has illustrated that the children who spend a lot of time on their smartphones have more physical or mental problems in comparison with those who did not use them very much. Some problems in the spine and neck are caused by a long time of inactivity, and optometric problems are examples of physical issues. Besides, mental aspects such as depression, anti-social behaviour, seclusion and isolation are irreparable damage by excessive use of smartphones.

In conclusion, although smartphones are definitely useful and play a very important role in our life, they will have negative influences if parents do not manage their children's time to use their phones.