Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is believed that some children spend an inordinate amount of time using their mobile phones. This essay will first closely examine the reasons behind this thinking before concluding that this is generally a favorable development.

Excessive use of smartphones can be ascribed to two primary reasons: stress from personal lives and the attractiveness of such a cutting-edge technological gadget. As for the former, in an interconnected yet competitive world, children are often under considerable pressure from their social life. For example, some may be coerced into exerting themselves to gain good marks; some may have to worry about problems arising from their own family. Due to these constant stresses, children have a tendency to resort to using their phones as a vehicle for venting their pent-up frustration and stress. Personal pressure aside, the attractive nature of smartphones is also to blame for the increasing number of children excessively using their phones. A plethora of applications readily available on the internet can be appealing to them, given its intriguing functions coupled with high-quality graphics, quenching their thirst for entertainment.

In light of the aforementioned arguments, I would contend that this is a positive development. This is because using phones can act as a powerful method of easing stress. Playing games, texting, calling with friends through videos or watching film series, for example, can be beneficial to their minds as these activities are mostly fun and entertaining. Granted, opponents may argue that prolonged exposure to mobile screens can lead to countless serious health problems such as deteriorated eyesight, backache, headache or even stroke in worst-case scenarios. However, this worry can be effectively curbed by restricting the time spent on these devices and children should be incentivized to engage in more outdoor activities, alongside the immersion in the virtual world. In addition to being a stress reliever, phones can be a tool used for educating children. With the proliferation of online video sharing platforms, they can watch numerous educational videos ranging from almost all subjects, thereby significantly broadening their range of knowledge.

In conclusion, daily pressure and the appeal of phones are responsible for the growing trend of children using phones more and the increasing amount of time spent on phones, I would contend, can be beneficial to children, given its roles as both a stress reliever and a virtual educator.