Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

People argued that in modern days digital phones become an indispensable thing for kids and some children spend too much their leisure time using smartphones. In this essay, I will discuss why this problem happens and I believe that this is a negative development.

There are several reasons why some kids spent hours on their smartphones. Firstly, smartphones provide a platform for entertainment such as YouTube or Tiktok and they can help children relax and reduce stress after long studying hours. In addition with access to games and the internet, children can keep themselves occupied and entertained for hours. For example, my brother often spends his spare time entertaining himself by using his smartphone to play games or watch videos after learning. Secondly, smartphones also provide a means of socialization. With the rise of social media, children can stay connected with friends and family, which can lead to a sense of belonging. Finally, smartphones are the best gadget to help kids study through educational apps. And children can be attracted by these apps so they often spend hours using smartphones to study.

However, I believe that this is a negative trend and it will affect children a lot. To begin with, using digital phones a lot will make kids become addicted and they will forget their studies. For instance, during corona pandemic season most students could cover up their studies through smartphones they became addicted to it and they used to count on bad habits like gaming or listening to music. In addition, children will not know the value of time because they only spend their leisure time using smartphones and children will only waste their time on invaluable things like chatting with friends or watching movies.

In conclusion, children tend to use smartphones a lot because of entertainment and education. However, it seems to me that children do not use digital phones a lot every day and they only use smartphones in need to avoid becoming addicted and wasting their time.