Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern times, some children spend hours on their smartphones daily. From an overall perspective, this is a result of parents unconsciously letting their children use phones as a tool to keep them occupied. I strongly believe that sitting in front of a screen for hours every day is detrimental to children's health and development.

There are many reasons why minors are becoming obsessed with phones; one of them is the increasingly irresponsible parenting method. As a result of the hectic lifestyle, when parents come home from work, they often find themselves exhausted, and therefore they do not have time to spend with their kids. The lack of essential connections between family members leaves the minor with no other choice but to use phones as the only means of entertainment. As an illustration, thousands of videos featuring folk tales have garnered millions of views on YouTube for children. In the past, these could be told by the parents as bedtime stories, which greatly enhanced the bond between generations.

The prevalence of excessive smartphone use has several repercussions on children. A common one is their badly affected well-being. Less time spent outdoors due to more phone use can result in several health problems. For example, children who are on the phone for a long time from day to day often suffer from either obesity or malnutrition. In addition, unfiltered content on the Internet may be inappropriate for youngsters. For instance, children can easily access Logan Paul, a YouTube channel featuring violent videos. This can be the cause of children's violence-oriented characteristics as they grow up.

In conclusion, I reiterate that the overuse of these modern portable electronics is a bad development, especially among youngsters, and adults must consider this development more thoroughly as their lifestyle promotes it. Most importantly, these habits are weakening these kids physically as well as spiritually.