Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is a common phenomenon that adolescents nowadays spend much of their time on mobile phones. Reasons for their substantial usage may vary either for educational purposes or purely for recreation. This situation is concerning many adults who believe that the excessive usage of smartphones may cause great harm to children. In my opinion, the integration of smart phones in the everyday lives of children is inevitable, for it could bring many benefits.

Firstly, with the rapid pace of technological development in the modern society, children need access to the internet on their phones to keep up with new things and arm themselves with the newest knowledge and gadgets. For example, payment in physical stores through mobile payments has eliminated the use of cash in people’s daily lives. Such tech advancements have brought great convenience. Moreover, especially during the pandemic period, many schools have switched to online teaching. Hence, to stay in touch with their teachers and do homework, youngsters may need to be active online in case they miss out on some important notices or tasks assigned by their teachers.

Secondly, smartphones have facilitated connections between friends and social contacts. Social media applications allow children to keep in touch with their friends after school. In this case, phones are advantageous in preventing the youngsters from feeling lonely and bored. They could watch films and play games together without having to leave their rooms.

However, despite the plentiful benefits smartphones can bring children and their parents should be cautious of its potential deficiencies. Relying too much on social media could also arouse feelings of anxiety, which is a phenomenon that is prevalent nowadays. Moreover, using too much online expressions could affect children’s ability to speak and write in real life.

In general, despite some side effects may exist, I contend that using smartphones in daily lives for many hours is understandable and does more good than harm.