Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your ow

In today’s modern world, it is common to see that everybody uses smartphone as a communication, entertainment device, especially young children who spend hours and hours keeping their eyes on the screen every day. Different people have expressed both favorable and negative comments about this problem. There are various factors here, and in my opinion, this trend is negative more than positive.

The first reason why children spend so much time on smartphone is parental supervision. Parents who have to work all day and do not have time to take care of their children use smartphones as toys for those youngsters to play with so that they won’t interrupt their parents while they’re engageD in their jobs. The second reason to this phenomenON is that the addiction of this smart device. Smartphones have more interesting and engaging games and apps for kids than other forms of entertainment because they provide the children with diverse interests and preferences.

I believe that spending hours keeping their eyes glued to the smartphones screen will develop negative effects, not only their health but also affect their social skills and academic performance. Firstly, youngsters who use their smartphones excessively may have a range of health issues, including obesity, nearsighted and insomnia. Secondly, since it keeps kids from paying attention in class and doing their assignments, excessive smartphone use might hurt their academic achievement. Last but not least, excessive smartphone use can harm kids' social skills by preventing them from interacting with others in real life, lowering their empathy and communication abilities, and raising their feelings of loneliness.