Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Perhaps the greatest threat to the world is not the atomic bombs, the regional conflicts, terrorism, an outbreak of population or political instability but the climate change and environmental degradation. If we do not address this greatest danger properly, we will be responsible for our own extinction, and I do not believe that we should let it happen by doing nothing about it.

To begin with, the rising temperature, Arctic ice melt, deforestation, uncontrolled industrialization, air pollution and depletion of the ozone layer are all connected and would lead to a single event- the destruction of the world. We have already harmed the environment to a great extent and the time has come for all nations to work together to reduce the environmental damage. The sudden flood in the USA, intense storm in Asia, unpredictable droughts in Africa are all resulting from climate change and this change is occurring rapidly than ever before. If we let this continue, the future would be even more perilous. According to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, consequences of climate changes include the increased intensity of storms including tropical cyclones, increased risks of drought and, wetter Asian monsoon, and, possibly, more intense mid-latitude storms. According to a recent report, global warming would cause sea levels to rise up to 4 feet by 2100 and many countries including some South Asian countries would suffer greatly from that.

The last thing the human should do to turn a blind eye to this imminent problem and learn to live with it, of course, unless we want the termination of the human race, that would be a whole different issue. There is a lot to do and we should start implementing regional cooperation right now. Every individual should contribute by emitting fewer fumes and planting as many trees as possible while the use of fossil fuel should be globally prohibited. Industrial countries have more responsibilities as they contribute more to environmental degradation and an international panel should be formed by giving it a supreme power to make any legislation to kerb the environmental damages.

To conclude, for our existence on Mother Earth, we should take immediate actions both at individual and international levels to check climate change. Otherwise, we will fail to save our planet and future generations.