Some countries import a large amount of food from others. To what extent is this a positive or negative?

Many nations these days are allocating a large sum of their capital on importing food from other nations. While this trend could bring out certain detrimental impacts on the environment and the local business, the merits of it on the public is also considerable.

On the one hand, by importing a large quantity of food, the diet = diets of the populace would be enriched as there are numerous types of ingredients and nourishments for them, leading to an improvement in general well-being. Furthermore, it is not for granted that every land on Earth is suited for agriculture which can be attributed to soil degeneration or climate pattern, especially those in Africa, coupled with the fact that these areas might be susceptible to natural disasters or even domestic conflicts. In fact, in certain African countries, where drought and war are popular, this idea seemed to be a valid solution that could ensure sufficient food supply for the population. Finally, given that the government does not have to focus on developing agricultural or farming, other industries could be emphasised, resulting in a thriving economy based on other domains. Therefore, as this action would fortify each other’s financial viability, the process of globalisation could be encouraged.

On the other hand, this inclination of the government might engender several valid concerns. An increase in foreign products might put a strain on local suppliers since there is an enhancement in the competition in the domestic market. However, this could be considered as an opportunity for the local farmers to innovate and compete with imported foods. In addition, the soaring number of goods transportation will take a toll on the environment, causing profound impact on the ozone layer and other issues related to carbon footprint. Nevertheless, these problems have been researched, recently, and certain sustainable solutions have been given such as replacing old-fashion petrol with biofuels in order to combat these difficulties.

In conclusion, although this importing trend could produce a number of disadvantages on financial and environmental facets, it seems that the merits of it are more glaring.