In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that excessively consuming fast food leading to many health problems is one of the major issues in some nations. This essay agrees that higher tax on junk food should be imposed as such policy will generate some revenue to help people having diseases and higher price of this kind of food will prevent people to consume it regularly.

The money taken from the higher tax imposed on fast food industry can be utilised to help people who are suffering from diseases caused by fast food. For example, the UK’s government makes people to pay more for alcoholic drinks and tobacos, and it has proven to be effective to curb the consumption of these harmful products including fast food. Governments can even use this outgoings to run advertising campaigns to educate people about the risks of smoking and using alcoholic products as well.

By increasing the price of fast food, authorities can lower the consumption of this kind of food. When higher taxes are imposed on fast food industry, restaurants selling junk food must increase their prices of their products, making it exorbitant. Eventually, fast-food consumers will see it as a costly, luxury product and they will pick up another option for meals which is more cost effective. Take Vietnam for example, the products’ prices of fast food giants namely, KFC, McDonald are much more expensive compared to street food or home cooked food. Therefore, Vietnamese ocasionally eat fast food and health problems caused by this kind of food have never been an issue in this country.

In conclusion, imposing higher tax on fast food companies is vital because it seems to me that this scheme will improve people’s health and help people having severe diseases to mitigate their burdens.