In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Living alone indeed has tended to rise now. While many people suppose that it is a significant positive development. I believe that this is negative growth for various reasons.

On the one hand, deciding to live independently might be beneficial for many people and society. Firstly, because of the self-managing of all of the problems in their life, such as paying living, room rental, and eating every day and every month, they are forced to become more mature and responsible. If they still stay at their parent's home, they might rely on their parent's parental allowance, even becoming a family burden. Secondly, this tendency goes up relentlessly, housing needs continue to develop significantly. This means can benefit the construction industry, estate agents, and ultimately the prospering nation as a whole.

On the other hand, in my opinion, I predict this tendency might be negative growth soon. The first reason is that it involves the first view as I mentioned above, that we will feel like we are abandoned in some time because of self-managing and arranging everything without being reliant on any help for our parents or someone else. Even some people can deal with severe depression if they can not solve many necessary problems for a long time. Additionally, the rising model of affordable housing is synonymous with poor quality infrastructures going up. It causes the urban landscape to be seriously affected such as residential imbalance.

In conclusion, While choosing alone still was recognized as an advantage for many people, I still believe that this tendency contains more potential negative things.