In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In recent years, the rise of adults who are still living with their parents have been contributing to economic upheaval. Whereas some people argue that this trend helps forge stronger bonds between family members, I strongly believe that it is more disadvantageous due to the dependence of children on their parents.

On the one hand, living under the same roof with parents helps cement relationships between family members. Primarily, children have abundant opportunities for face-to-face communication. For instance, after graduating, children could share their experience at the workplace to receive advice from parents. Consequently, this helps children improve their self-confidence and make right decisions but sometimes parents put their own viewpoint that is probably inappropriate in the modern world on the children. It would not happen if children are settling down in other places and mainly contacting their parents over phone calls.

On the other hand, continuing to live with parents causes detrimental effects on enhancing self-reliance skill, which is the minimum requirement for success in the highly crowded and competitive business world. The most obvious reason is that children are likely to be exempt from mundane tasks such as doing laundry, cleaning rooms and preparing meals. Therefore, children could not be aware of the importance of self-discipline and self-dependence that could lead to personal and career success. Obviously, children who are early earning their own life separately perform better in adapting in a new environment than the others.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of living with parents, after graduating, there is not a wise path towards becoming a successful and well-adjusted person. In my opinion, children should be fully aware of the responsibility for their lives at the age of 18.