In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Some people believe that buying a house is more beneficial than renting one, and there are various reasons to explain this popular conception. Personally, I believe that this is a positive trend in society’s mindsets.

There are two main reasons why owning a house is very important. Firstly, this is a one-time purchase, so when people have their own homes, a sense of security is created. From now they no longer have to be worried about housing rental fees every month, which is very annoying and doubles or even triples their monthly living expenses as well. For example, in the context of Covid-19, a lot of families lost their main income, leading to a lack of money. At that time, families who owned a home literally felt more secure than others, since they would still have had their house to survive even if the worst situation had occurred. Secondly, home ownership becomes a trend because people want to live in a place being exactly the same as their dream one. They aspire to have all the authority to build and decorate it as they like, without being hampered by others.

I believe mentioned situation should be considered positive. Because the desire of owning a home strongly motivates people, they try their best in both work and life, which makes them become a better version of themselves over time. Such an outstanding signal. Another reason is that houses have been seen as a lucrative form of investment, as real estate prices tend to increase in the long run. For instance, in the year 2000, my uncle spent two billion to buy a house, and after 20 years, he sold it for ten billion, as we can see, he made a profit of five times what he spent.

In conclusion, the main motivation behind home ownership stems from the desire of having a stable financial base and personal satisfaction. And I also think that this trend has brung us a lot of value in today’s world.