In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative situation?

In some countries, people desire to have their own home instead of living in rented houses. There are a number of reasons for the increasing desire to own a home, but I think this trend causes many disadvantages.

It is understandable why people in some countries want to buy a house rather than rent. Many people are more materialistic and home ownership is a criterion to measure their economic status. They believe that only people who cannot afford to buy a place to live should rent a place to live, and that having a home brings an atmosphere of respectability. In addition, owning a home brings a sense of security. If renting, the landlord may end the lease without notice, or the tenant may have difficulty paying the rent during certain periods of financial hardship. Ultimately, I think this could be a wise and profitable investment because real estate is a profitable business.

However, I think development will bring negative impacts. Young people in these countries experience more financial stress when buying a home. An example is the fact that owning a house in a densely populated area requires a lot of money and most young people need loans to own a house. This can become a factor that hinders work-life balance because they have to work hard to pay off debt plus property taxes and insurance proportional to the size of the house as well as expenses. Electricity and maintenance are added to their daily expenses. If they want to save money, they often choose to buy a house far from the city center, making traveling between home and work more inconvenient than renting an apartment in the center for the same price.

In short, I can attribute the desire to own a house instead of renting to the materialism of young people, the desire for a stable living condition and long-term investment. However, I think this trend also puts more financial burden on young people.