In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Many nations are witnessing the number of small businesses in town shrinking as the community prefers travelling to suburban stores. Personally, this wind of change could offer various merits and overcome its disadvantages.

There are several concrete reasons for this tendency. Firstly, moving store and business centres to the outskirt could help alleviate traffic congestion. Normally, small vendors are scattered all over the city, as a result, residents have to switch between multiple locations in order to purchase adequate amount of product, while the parking and traffic infrastructure is limited and could not accommodate a colossal number of vehicles at the same time. Hence, if the store relocates to the outside of the city centre, this alteration could release the burden on the city. Moreover, shopping in out of town stores is considered handier. Shopping malls supermarkets and megamalls are often located in the suburb. These shopping centres allow people to find almost every kind of item in one place at a more affordable price and save time for customers.

On the other hand, people might cast doubt that individuals without personal vehicles could face difficulties in accessing out-of-town stores because using a personal vehicle might help clients proactively manage their schedule and prevent time-consuming. However, the public transport system is becoming more innovative and ubiquitous. People could go back and forth from their houses to the suburban stores without any concerns about distance and time. Furthermore, this shifting in shopping preference might advocate people to move out of the city and dwell in the vicinity of the store location, relieving the pressure on the city population and environment.

In conclusion, although moving shopping centres away from the downtown area seems to have both positive and negative effects, I hold a firm belief that this trend could show significant benefits on population distribution and address numerous issues occurring in megacities.