Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

For decades, animal testing has served as catalysts to create novel medicine and test the safety of the products. However, this approach caused multiple controversies about whether it should be prohibited due to its immorality or it should proceed for humanitarian purposes. Personally, this essay would stay neutral and explain both views

On the one side, animal experiments could contribute to life-saving and treatment. Every drug or medicine before selling in the market have to be tested under scrutiny across multiple phrases, including on animal. In fact, countless cures for chronic and fatal diseases such as cancers, insulin, HIV have been made possible thanks to animal testing. The findings from these researches have saved billion of souls and become the landmark fulcrum for the development of health science. Furthermore, the benefits of animal testing perform even more tangible results in terms of quickly dealing with such epidemics. Animal research has played a critical role in helping researchers understand the virus itself, the mechanics of its transmission, and the safety and efficiency of all the vaccines so far produced to bring the end of the pandemic a step closer.

On the flip side, the clueless and inhumanity unfortunately still exist during animal testing procedures. The number of qualified institutions remains humble; whereas the majority of small institutes could not provide adequate standards for experimental animals. As a result, these species have to suffer from abominable and filthy living conditions. In some cases, researchers want to burn stages to get concrete achievements and underestimate the number of animals needed. These abundant unreliable studies not only have lacked the power to pinpoint the effectiveness of the drugs but also turn million of animals’ death to meaningless. Moreover, the innovations of technology have opened new doors to allow other alternative non-animal methods, addressing the ethical dilemma either for humans or animals.

To recapitulate, even though animal experiments could vitally devote humanity to medical research, I still believe that we should observe at a wider picture to enact and ensure the living rights of other living creatures.