In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Break is always required between two consecutive work or study periods. In many nations younger are inspired to either work or to go for travel after completing schooling and before they start higher studies. As every coins has two sides, this quaoted sentence also has advantages and disadvantages which is discussed in following paragraphs.

Having a gap between schooling and beginning with college life has many pros. First and formost is, after completing almost 3-4 years of continuous study definitely they got exhausted and must need some rest. Taking a break make them feel refreshed and rejuvenated, which will help them to concentrate more accurately as well as focused in their university studies. Secondly they study more enthusiastically and able to score higher in university examination. Moreover as they finish high school, students have to choose some course area according to their interest. In this given break they get time to think over their interested study subjects and can come up with wise decision about their area of interest.

On the other hand, it has some cons also.Some youngers may loose their study interest during the gap, which will be too difficult for them to join the university courses and make them lazy and uninterested. Furthermore, some youngers, if they get work which earns in good amount, then they prefer to continue with the work or job and never start university. This may affect their future adversly.

To sum up, Having a gap between high school and colleges definitely provide refreshment in both way mentally as well as physically but on opposite side it may have detrimental effect on their mind too if they lost interest in study.