In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

In many nations, young generations are advised to take a gap year to work or travel between finishing upper-secondary school and entering university. Although there are some objections to this tendency, to some extent this trend also has several benefits. This essay will show that saving money by taking a gap year is the primary advantage, followed by it is the problem of motivation will be reduced to study.

After taking a year off, many people often get used to working or traveling then they do not want to return to a life of study. This short-term view causes some to bypass university and go straight into a job that is beneath their capabilities or may not offer the same prospects for future careers that might have done.

Though those are drawbacks regarding this trend, the benefits may overshadow them. Saving money is the primary advantage that can be seen in the situation that third-level education is so expensive, some average students have to work for 12 months to save up money, then, they can pay for their living costs, tuition fee, and accommodation rather than struggle financially or get into a job on top of their academic work. Moreover, having a year off gives the younger opportunities to expose to their life, and experience problems or challenges they must deal with which are not taught in coursework. Then, they will be stronger and cultivate their knowledge about everything they have gone through.

To sum up, working or traveling for a year has not been so popular in many countries, cause many people want to go for a traditional way of graduating from high school and entering university, but following this trend will open a new way for their life, even more giving one more chance to some are who are not able to attend third level education because of some problems they cannot deal with.