Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs,

believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers

see no benefit in doing so.

Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

In our modern era, employers are always seeking ways to boost productivity and work efficiency for their firms. Intending to pursue this achievement, some employers are now focusing on subsidising health services to their employees. Other employers, on the other hand, argue that this implication brings no benefit. In this essay, we will discuss both arguments.

On the one hand, giving staff the opportunity to access health services will counteract them from their sedentary lifestyles, thus, promote work efficiency and increase the output for the company. The employees might feel fulfilled as they have used most of their leisure time to improve their health and become fitter. This is believed to be more motivating than pay increments, perks or financial rewards such as bonuses or incentives which may be hard to attain. Furthermore, doing more exercises will optimize the brainpower, which encourages employees’ creativity, inspiration and might come up with great ideas. For instance, research conducted by a group of scientists from John Hopkins University has found that there is a correlation between exercising and the brain’s function. The result showed that those who exercise more frequently will achieve better outcomes than those who do not exercise much.

Conversely, the problem with leisure-based subsidise is that their efficacy is virtually impossible to quantify. For example, with target-related payments, employers can at least see whether the objectives are reached or not. If this budget is spent on (namely) on the job training or day released programmes, the employees will sharpen both their soft and hard skills and will achieve better career progression. This will allow the employers to measure the effectiveness of their staff more easily, especially in performance reviews and appraisals.

Overall, it seems that, while health-related subsidise is superficially attractive, they still have some drawbacks such as lack of measurements and in some cases, this may even keep the company back from success. Financing for training programs would be a better use of the firm’s budget.