Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while

others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own

knowledge and experience.

Sport is said to play a crucial role in a child’s school life. Conversely, others believed that it is not compulsory for children to take sport as a part of their school life. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider now.

On one hand, one major benefit of sport is that it helps children’s physical development at an important stage. By doing exercise regularly, children’s muscles are strengthened which leads to a development in their height. Furthermore, encouraging youngsters to take up sports will help counteract them from their sedentary lifestyle. If children spend most of their time studying and playing video games, they will possibly suffer from many weight-related diseases such as obesity, high blood cholesterol, and anorexia. Last but not least, supporters of school sports emphasize the importance of team building and sportsmanship in sports such as football, basketball, etc. In fact, many successful people excelled sport at school.

On the other hand, it is said that sports use up time which can be better spent for learning such as reviewing lectures, preparing for exams,… In addition, it is unwise to force children to do what they are not interested in. Instead, they can make use of their spare time to nurture themselves by doing their hobbies, namely, reading books, baking, planting,… These activities might help to identify the characteristics and future careers for youngsters. Finally, some students are not sporty enough and would prefer to stay indoors studying. It is notable, for example, not every Havard students are keen on sports but they still pursue a good education and a bright future ahead.

Overall, I believe that sports should be optional for children. Because they can choose to grow in another way which suits them most. Moreover, I am convinced that the benefits of letting youngsters choose what they want to outweigh the drawbacks.