Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely believed by experts that learning a new language as a child, starting from elementary school instead of secondary will be more beneficial. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages but will provide the reasons why there are more advantages.

To begin with, children who will learn a new language from a young age would have more chances to master it later on in life. That is because people become more adaptive to new concepts and ideas when they are young. To illustrate, when a baby is born, he learns everything right from the start and thus, later on, become gradually better at it. Furthermore, learning a language as soon as possible can also influence one’s moralities and behaviors. That, as a result, can help one achieve better results in life and become a better human being.

On the other hand, this can, however, negatively affect the child’s ability to gain a clear understanding of his mother tongue and often time even confuse him. As a consequence, that can influence one’s abilities to approach new people, make him an outcast in society and worst of all, interfere with his life at home. For instance, if a child will be forced to learn a different and unfamiliar language, there will be a chance that he will try to use that language as opposed to using the one that is spoken locally. While that can be more valuable later in life, unfortunately, it can dramatically impact one’s daily life.

In conclusion, I strongly support the idea of making children learn a new language from a younger age, as, in my opinion, there are far more advantages in applying such an approach than disadvantages.