Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Fashion style is considered to be one of important aspects in many workplaces. Some of them argue that their employees should have a taste in fashion while others think that the quality of work should be appreciated rather than a good dressing sense. This essay will grant us a chance to discuss both these opinions.

On the one hand, some workplaces require their staff to wear formal clothes. In fact, many people's first judging toward somebody is based on how they are looking. Therefore, wearing a formal and polite dress code helps them draw the attention of other people. Especially, while they have client-facing professions, a smart and beautiful dress style will make the customers impress and feel more pleasure. For instance, people will respect and trust the salesman with a flashy suit and tie. His tidy and clean appearance is also seen as the proper characteristic to represent the organization. The employees have to dress properly because their appearance plays a crucial role toward public opinions.

On the other hand, a good-looking appearance does not assure the quality of work. Technology has changed the way people used to communicate in the modern workplace. For example, you can send emails, text or video chat or even video conference with subordinates or superiors through social networking apps like G-mail, Skype, etc. With the help of technology, you no longer need to be present at your workplace every time. Therefore, the efficiency of work is more evaluated than the dressing styles. Moreover, big organizations such as Facebook and Google allow their staff to dress freely as long as they complete their tasks properly.

In conclusion, it is considered by some that dressing style is an indispensable aspect of many workplaces while others value the quality of work more. I personally believe that both opinions are interconnected and complementary to each other.