Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed.

However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments.

Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Animal testing has been a well-known and normal stage of procedures for decades now. There is a dispute between many of whether it should be outlawed or continued for the sake of "important" scientific discoveries. In my essay, I will go on to explain why not only is this unjust, but also how we are reducing Earth to being uninhabitable.

First and foremost, imagine yourself in a closed cage while being poked and picked at. If just the thought is horrifying, know that many animals have to spend their entire life being experimented on. These are sentient beings, like us, yet those who perform these cruel activities, such as animal testing for cosmetic purposes, choose to ignore that. Materialism, superficial-ism and superiority of human advancement covers their reasons. As a non-scientific professional, I cannot comment on the alternatives, but I suggest work to be done on finding these substitutes.

Furthermore, supposing the procedure was painless, we cannot deny that a seemingly safe vial of injection may cause an animal's death. Studies show, that such consequences are a leading cause towards endangerment of test animals. This just goes to show how we are deliberately disturbing the natural order of mother earth. Scientists are well aware of the food-chain and its impact on regulation of the ecosystem.

In conclusion, I believe there is no way one can justify animal experimentation other than plain satisfaction of a curious mind, which is just not worth it. This needs to be an urgent matter taken up at United Nation's Climate Change 27th conference, last held in Scotland. We are in the 21st century, an era of limitless knowledge, yet we are readily heading towards our own destruction.