Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments.

Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Animal testing has been a controversial subject for decades since some think that it should be banned, and others believe that it is necessary for the development of science. This essay is going to explain why this type of experiment is defensible and prove that there has not appeared any other method that could replace it.

As widely known, animal testing can be justified thanks to the success of many renowned experiments and the fact that animals are the most suitable studying objects. Most animals in scientific experiments are ones that are large in number, have short life spans, are easy to monitor, and have diverse genetics, such as mice or rabbits. These features make experimental effects easy to observe, bringing about great achievements. A popular example is Dolly the sheep, one of the most important scientific discoveries throughout the entire history of mankind. This interesting case has proved the possibility of cloning, promising new methods to revive extinct species or preserve the endangered ones.

The similarities between animals and humans are the main reason why there is no equal replacement for testing objects. Mammals like mice or rabbits also experience aging, multiplying, and sickness like us, along with a variety of other features in terms of anatomy and genetics. This makes them the perfect testing object for medicine and beauty products, as well as disease studying. If experimentation on animals is outlawed, the only way for scientific research to be put into practical use is through the process of testing them on human beings, which would undoubtedly create destructive effects and lead to a humanitarian crisis.

In conclusion, animal testing can be justified despite ongoing controversy. There is also no applicable alternative since features that are similar to the human body cannot be found anywhere else other than on animals.