Some people argue that holding sporting events is beneficial to countries’ development. However,

other people hold the opposite opinion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many hold a belief that holding sports occasions does a great job in boosting the development of countries; while opponents argue that it could bring about many serious problems. To the best of my knowledge, the former point of view is more reasonable for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that sporting events contribute significantly to the local tourism industry. Nowadays, many studies have shown that the successful organization of sports events, typically on a global scale, is accompanied by the increasing number of foreign tourists. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that by being the host, a country is able to attract a large array of athletes and their supporters from all around the world. For example, the Olympic Games and World Cup promoted development of domestic industries like accommodation, transport or entertainment to satisfy the requirements of more visitors. This example is the illustration of the fact that holding sports festivals has chronic effects on host countries’ development.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that holding sporting events needs many budgets from governments; otherwise, local governments and authorities that on the tight budget have to spend on various social aspects, typically medication or education. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that despite high expenses of organizing sports occasions, sports events are regarded as one of the top priority to governments as preserving traditional culture. For instance, Brazil’s football is the most popular sport around the world, which is a prominent part of national identity. As a result, sporting events should be protected to develop countries’ culture.

In conclusion, holding sports festivals plays an instrument in countries’ development towards tourism industries and traditional culture in a long run as mentioned above.