Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society

It would be argued by some that undergraduate education will facilitate the job careers of graduates. In my opinion, however, I believe that the benefits gained from university education are more expansive

On the one hand, the principal reason why some hold the belief that joining university will help graduates get better jobs is it gives them knowledge and invaluable skills, which will be their advantage when applying for jobs. For example, my brother has a chance to work in a famous technology company as a designer as a result of bettering his making PowerPoint skills during his study time at university.

However, I am convinced that university education has more beneficial impact on both graduate students themselves and society. With individuals, going to university help them become more independent. Living away from a familiar environment, individuals have to learn many skills, from such a small thing as cooking to paying bills. They also need to know how to solve their problems by themselves. Because of that, they will be more mature when having their foot in real life as adults. With society, a popular example of the benefits of undergraduate education is overseas students. After studying for a long period in another country, they can use their gained experiences to solve various problems in their native country. My sister, for example, invented a pollution treatment technology to help the environmental situation in my neighbourhood better by using her knowledge about technology when studying in German

To conclude, although it is true that university education helps graduates get better jobs, their benefits should be considered more widen.