Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

I totally disagree with the view that growing up the petrol’s price is the best solution to deal with traffic and pollution problems, and I will suggest some better ways to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, increasing the price of petrol will pose a negative impact on the economy of a country. Petrol is believed to use for developing industries, so if the petrol’s price becomes higher, it will lead to the lack of materials and resources for the manufacturing process. As result, there will be a new problem appearing in our society, and to fix it the government has to use a huge amount of money. For instance, in 2010, because the Vietnamese’s government decided to implement a policy that increased the price of petrol, many businesses and companies went bankrupt including some giants in the industry such as Formosa. That is why it is no use raising petrol prices to face up to traffic and pollution problems.

There are many suitable solutions that can be used to deal with these problems. Firstly, the government should improve the acknowledgement of their population to help them have an overview of these problems so as to take their actions. Secondly, the population can also be encouraged to use public transport to help to protect the environment and to solve growing traffic.

To conclude, it is no good trying to face up to traffic and pollution problems by having petrol’s price increased. Instead of that, it is more beneficial when making people use public transport and raising their acknowledgement.