Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that it is of great importance to permit children to make decisions about their daily matters while it is argued by others that this permission would create selfish individuals. This essay would look into both views and state my opinion.

On the one hand, people's concern about children freely making decisions is understandable. This concern is justified by the fact that if children are given such freedom, they tend to make childish choices and even disregard opinions from adults due to still being young and premature. In worse cases, they would demand unreasonable possessions from their parents like expensive clothes or mobile phones without bearing in mind their family's financial situation. With no proper parental teaching, upon entering adulthood, they will continue to act spoiled and become selfish individuals.

On the other hand, it is also worthwhile to note that this kind of freedom has some benefits. To begin with, as children are given permission to organize daily matters on their own, they would have to learn how to distribute the time on leisure activities and house chores effectively. Therefore, not only do they feel a great sense of responsibility and independence but their time management skills also improve. Plus, the freedom to make choices boost their creativeness and confidence as well. For example, a child who can choose his or her own outfit would definitely have a better sense of fashion than one who can not. Moreover, if people can wear the clothes that they like, they would feel more comfortable and hence more confident.

In conclusion, though I agree that allowing children to make decisions freely can be beneficial to some extent, I believe that such freedom would also make them grow up to be selfish individuals who disregard other opinions. In my opinion, it would be best for children to make choices with proper guidance and teaching from parents.