Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There can be no doubt that the topic of phone usage deserves some analysis. It is this writer's opinion that phone prohibition helps children focus more on work and allowance to use phones enables them to better socialize. From another perspective, youngsters should be permitted to use phones at their disposal.

On the one hand, disallowing phone possession may increase work productivity. Smartphones are one of the principal sources of distraction, which often tempt kids to either play too many games or scroll through social media. Therefore, with the absence of mobile phones, children can easily pay concerted effort to cope with a demanding workload, namely working on school projects or maintaining excellent academic performance. Consequently, not only do they become more productive, but they also have extra time for leisure.

On the other hand, the freedom to use smartphones is conducive to extending social circles. As social beings in the modern age, children tend to long for a constant connection with their friends for both recreational and professional purposes such as catching up with a friend or discussing academic matters. This can be easily achieved via various social media apps on smartphones for instant messaging and video calls like Facebook and Instagram. For that reason, children's social life can be greatly enhanced.

From my standpoint, kids should be free to use phones by virtue of the convenience offered by virtual socializing. In this day and age, most children have a hectic schedule that requires them to handle a tremendous amount of work, ranging from domestic domain to their institutions, such as household chores and school projects. For better management, mobile phones are a viable alternative since they can provide virtual meeting apps like Google Meet and Zoom that help save more time. The outcome is that youngsters will not only have more time for themselves but also receive more life satisfaction.

It can be seen that although disallowing phone usage may help children better focus on their work, they should be able to use phones at their disposal for better social interactions and more free time.