Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The phone is becoming an indispensable device in our daily life, especially among teenagers. While some people argue that children should not be allowed to use their phones at school, I would argue that it is better to give children permission to use those devices.

On the one hand, there are some advantages when students are prohibited from using phones. Firstly, children could concentrate more easily on their studies without the use of phones. For instance, teenagers can be immediately distracted from learning because of a quick message from friends or funny games in class. Secondly, parents can easily control the time that their children spend on phones if they only use them at home. Some children are immersed in the virtual world of social networks and entertainment apps. Therefore, they need to be limited in their use of their phones.

On the other hand, I believe it will be more beneficial if students are permitted to bring their phones to school. In the first place, the phone is an effective tool for studying. Students can broaden their knowledge and find appropriate references for their exercises by phones as soon as needed. In the second place, it is uncomplicated for parents to check if their children are at school or not. They can contact their children directly or use GPS to find the location on the map. For example, in previous years in Vietnam, there were some regrettable accidents where students died in school buses because they fell asleep. Until teachers and parents realized and started to look around, it was too late.

In conclusion, phones have both positive and negative impacts on students at schools, but it seems that it would be necessary to allow children to use phones during school days.