Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the growth of the population, the demand for traveling is increasing sharply, so citizens pay much more attention to enhancing the quality of road infrastructure. There are those who opine that the authority should allocate money to constructing rail and metro lines, while others think building more highways is a greater way to mitigate the traffic jams. This essay will shed light on both approaches before making a final note.

To commence with that notion, there are some reasons why residents think building trains and railways is the better way to tackle the current problem. The first reason is that rail and metro lines operate in separated infrastructures and they are able to carry a large number of passengers, thus it will ease the pressure on road infrastructures. If people are encouraged to use public transportation, the issue of traffic jams that result from a large number of private vehicles will be mitigated. Another reason is that constructing the railway system can connect the traffic route between rural areas and urban areas easily. From that, the residents who settled down on the outskirts will be able to commute to work conveniently, and time-saving as well because of not migrating to the central city. This solution may decrease the considerable amount of private vehicles moving to the city.

On the other hand, building more highways allow higher transportation to move to stimulate during the rush hour, which avoids the congestion situation. Therefore, the traffic system is not only under the control of the authority, but also the safety of commuting is assurance. Moreover, this approach will meet the need of purchasing more personal vehicles. In addition, the highway systems of the regions are interconnected, the government can make policies to encourage cooperation by changing the branches into suburban areas, which will lead to reducing the population density. As a result, this also helps ease the traffic congestion. For instance, in the Long Khanh district of Dong Nai province, the local government has suggested expanding the current roads and building more highways in order to adapt to the need of the people. This system is completed and go into operation now.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that both sides of the argument have their positive points. However, I’m inclined to believe that the method to build trains and subways makes more sense in terms of environmental protection.