Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, there has been a controversy of whether information in terms of scientific, business and academic realms should be publicized or not as some of them is of paramount importance and invaluable. Although both schools of thought hold a value of accuracy, I personally lean towards the latter idea

On the one hand, if there was so much limitation finance-wise in accessing these genres of information, fewer breakthroughs would be generated since not everyone can pay money to acquire them. Indeed, discoveries may not be used as their full potential at the first place so if more people are being acknowledged about this, there will be more inventions and ideas, some of which can even be ground-breaking and unexpectedly become scientific breakthroughs. For example, if the information revolving around a kind of virus that caused skin cancer had been off the record, human would still have had to suffer from this disorder till these days since the doctor discovered this illness’s treatment was not the one who found the mentioned virus

On the other hand, scientists are demotivated to stick with their research while they have to live on a budget. In fact, some information is generated from endless effort and hours dedicated by the professionals, which is immensely ironic if they do not receive any profit in return. Also, this can lead them not only to have to cope with financial issues on a daily basis but also in their scientific, business and academic areas. In addition, it would be problematic to remain the balance between occupation and life as they do not earn sufficient income to buy necessary equipment and technology for their work, they will have to prioritize their social lives as it is more essential. Thus, sharing information excessively without any limitation can contribute to many serious shortcomings

To conclude, although the idea of sharing information widely and freely is still in an intensive debate because while some claim that this can be beneficial for the society, others suppose it decreases the establishment of future innovations. From my perspective, I highly endorse the view that information should be spread with careful considerations and not every kind of them can be publicized without any charge