The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that the traditional family mealtime is on the verge of disappearing. There are several reasons for this situation and it can result in a variety of negative effects on household relationships and medical problems.

There are two obvious reasons why families no longer share mealtimes as they used to do in the past. First of all, since people these days tend to have heavier workloads and more hectic schedules than in the past, sitting down to share a meal with their family members might not be a convenient choice. Instead, these individuals usually eat out with their friends, colleagues, or business partners near their workplace which can be more suitable for their timetable. Secondly, having fast food is a better choice for them because it is easily- found and affordable. A meal near the working space is suitable for them to continue working whenever they want.

As a consequence, the consequences for family life and children’s health can be anticipated. In terms of family, meals taken together are the best time for all family members to share news, give guidance or advice. If a family continuously eats separately, family members may not be able to share their thoughts, feelings with each other, and therefore this can lead to a weaker family bond. In addition, for those whose parents are too busy to prepare meals may be left to eat junk food at fast-food chains. This, consequently, would develop unhealthy eating habits, which are likely to cause problems in children’s health such as obesity. While meals at home are clean and green providing sufficient vitamins and minerals to build a strong immune system for family members.

In conclusion, the tendency of family members eating separately is mainly caused by the difference in their schedules or the preference to eat fast food, which can have negative impacts on family connection and people’s health condition.