In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In some nations around the globe, people have an inclination of purchasing goods from stores on the outskirts, which puts the small shops in the danger of closure. As a result, the access to those large shops becomes limited to individuals without cars as well as the rise in car usage is predictable due to the need for long distance travel. In this essay, both merits and downsides are dissected to point out the reasons why the trend does more harm than good.

Forcing small sized shops in the town centers to shut down is an unfortunate situation due to some reasons. It can be seen that people who are not in possession of cars to travel for shopping purpose will mostly suffer from the predicament. The time used for traveling to such places can be better utilized for other activities such as work or entertainment. In addition, the trend is for beyond the individual levels. It causes a significant loss for the economy to any city where the increasing bankruptcies of small town-centre shops takes place, which harms the national economy as a whole.

The rising usage of cars due to the people’s demand for long distance travel is also problematic to some extent. Traffic congestion is resulted from the shopping preference, and the toxic waste emitted from car engines is proving detrimental to not only the environment of those places but also to human health.

However, this modification of shopping may encourage them to move out of town to nearby places. Given the fact that modern cities are struggling to face with overpopulation and an ever-growing pressure on house supply and healthcare systems, this change may be considered as a beginning of relieving such pressure.

In conclusion, the trend towards approaching shops located on the outskirts instead of town centers is having several negative impacts. Although it is a motivation for a certain number of people in the city to move out which contributes largely in solving population and other problems, I doubt that this trend could promise any significant outcome.