Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. I completely agree with this perception and this essay attempts to shed light on the rationales behind my concurrence.

On the one hand, there is no denying that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games. To begin with, reading stories from a book develop children language ability. This is because through reading books, children can accumulatie a wide range of new words as well as sentence structures. Therfore, reading books provide children more opportunities to advance vocabulary level, which help their writing skill better. By contrast, when watching TV or playing computer games, sounds and images are two keys elements rather than texts, which can take the children attention.

In addition, reading stories in books is superior to watching TV or playing computer games in term of nurturing children’s imagination. This can be explain by the fact that when they read book, they can immerse themselves in the lives of the fictional charactures that the author built and use their imagination to visualize the settings and guess the progress of the plot for the next chapter of the stories. As a result, reading book will help children create images, thoughts and opinions about the stories which can enhance their imagination. Meanwhile, this is not the case for TV and technology games, because when they play game or watch TV, the pre-configured images will take their iagination away.

In conclusion, I would contend that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.