Some people believe that students will benefit greatly if they study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions diverge on whether a student takes advantage of acquiring overseas education. Although some fervently advocate this sentiment, I am at loggerheads owing to some rational reasons.

Admittedly, studying abroad is costly. This can be explained by the fact that apart from significant tuition fees, foreign students have to spend on myriad expenditures, for example, living expenses, insurances, etc.. Occasionally, this results in thrusting the overseas learners into debt after graduating.

Further and even more prominently, there are remarkable hurdles for international learners who pursue higher level education. Strikingly, language is considered the biggest one when most abroad students can not communicate with native speakers fluently. Moreover, no longer living under the same roof with parents signifies that they have to suffer from a wide array of difficulties, for instance an illness or cultural shocks, alone. As a result, feeling forlorn and impotent is inevitable, which leads to a haemorrhage in learning motivation.

Last but not least, unsafety is contemplated as a noticeable factor to protest against studying abroad. In this day and age, when the pandemic surrounds all over the world, a new wave of disinformation about the origin of the covid-19 virus emerges, in which the possibility of a lab leak in Wuhan, China is widespreadly championed. For this issue, many Chinese in particular and Asian people-who look like Chinese in general, seem to be blamed and woefully, be insulted and assaulted sometimes. Perceptibly, it can be viewed actually in another dimension as a “symptom” of “racism disease” which smolders in certain countries, especially Western ones. Hence, students who are living and learning overseas probably put themselves in danger.

By way of conclusion, from a student perspective, emigrating for study does more harm than good.