Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a
successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after
school. Discuss both views.
Right after finishing high school, teenagers often wonder whether they ought to continue
their education or get a job. While many people believe that keeping on studying at a
college or university will be the best way to guarantee a successful career, others claim
that working straight after school is a better option.
Start working straight after graduation is beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, by
working, young people will be able to start earning money as soon as possible. As a
result, they will be mature enough, and be able to live independently on their own
income. Secondly, a person who decides to look for a job rather than pursuing higher
education is likely to have a chance to obtain a lot of real experience and practical
skills. This may lead them to progress more quickly in their chosen profession.
On the other hand, some people argue that it is more beneficial for young people to
continue their studies after high school. Firstly, a college education prepares students to
meet academic qualifications, which most employers require nowadays. Consequently,
university graduates usually have opportunities to earn higher salaries than those
without qualifications. In addition, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive
since hundreds of applicants often chase one position in an organization. Having a
degree is an obvious advantage that university graduates have. In many countries,
students who graduate with an engineering degree are highly paid and have an easy time
getting a good job.
In conclusion, it is true to say that both working straight after high school and continuing
higher-level studies each has their own unique advantages.