Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

Homeschooling, to some people, seems to have more benefits than traditional schooling in terms of children's growth. Others, however, believe in the importance of participating in school. Personally, although both views have their own merits and demerits, I think that school is still a better place to learn about the world.

On the one hand, home education could have its pros. Obviously, a child would not have to suffer from bullying or social anxiety as there are no other learners. Secondly, thanks to the deeper understanding of most parents about their children, a kid studying at home might have a more individualized curriculum. However, homeschooling could have its disadvantaged when a child nearly loses peer connection and communication, which is extremely crucial for its linguistic, mental and intellectual development. Moreover, a lack of social skills could also affect a child greatly when he joins the job market later because he didn't have the chance to practice working in a team, giving presentations, debating, etc.

On the other hand, although school could have some demerits which are also the merits of homeschooling, overall, it seems to me that it is still better than homeschooling due to various reasons. The first benefit is that an environment with lots of students would enhance many social skills like communication skills and team-working skills that can benefit the child in the long term. Furthermore, a child would be taught in a systematic way with well-accepted teaching methods. Therefore, a child would be equipped with adequate knowledge and skills to enter the job market or pursue higher education. For instance, due to the "active citizens" programme of the British Council, many students all over the world now have essential skills and perception to actively contribute to their community.

In conclusion, even though there are drawbacks and benefits to both homeschooling and traditional schooling, I still prefer going to school as I believe that it would be better for a child's development in the long run.