Some people believe that technology has made our lives too complex and the solution is to lead a simpler life without technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, people have differing views about whether advanced technology is complicating our life or not. It is true that technology is one factor that leaves plenty of influences in human developing life. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the view that supports the former idea and my reasons will be analysed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, since the continuous development of automation technology, it is irrefutable that the unemployment rate has dramatically increased. In many industrial factories, robotics and artificial intelligence are used to serve most of the process of manufacturing. As a result, the work efficiency would be improved and the profits that enterprises gain will apparently rocket. However, it should not be forgotten that if most of the procedures are done under robot hands, there will be a serious deficiency of jobs for humans, which lead to the increasing rate of unemployment and the disturbance in economy and even politics.

Secondly, with the popularity of mobile phones and other digital products, I am concerned about the downgrading of users’ physical health quality. Numerous studies have consistently found that light from computers and phones can negatively weaken our eyesight and cause a large number of eye diseases. It is obviously a consequence of the over-time exposure to digital products; therefore our eyes cannot handle working for such a long and continuous period of time. Apart from that, the virtual world seems to be too attractive to young people and it unintentionally prevents them from a healthy lifestyle. For instance, children now are getting used to spending too much time on video games and social media. Consequently, when the penny dropped, they will find putting down these entertaining methods is a matter, and the reduction in outdoor activities has been already formed, which resulted in the physical incomplete development.

Last but not least, it goes without saying that cybercrime has become a controversial issue. Hackers, which refers to a group of people who have fluent internet technology and tend to break into and trouble others’ private online space, can easily invade users’ privacy, then publish them or threaten the victim for property. In addition, it is perilous for adolescents to participate in social networking too early, due to their emotional immaturity. There is quite a lot of offensive and questionable content on these unofficial networks. To cite an example, the illegal promotion for violent products or pornography appears frequently on public websites, and lead to the mis-understanding awareness and cause some behaviours which against the law. Furthermore, teenagers can have to face psychological problems in their online relationships. Some recent study show that body shaming and negative comments on social media impacts youth and give rise to high suicide rate.

In conclusion, technology has a variety of drawbacks that should be focused on and considered to improve, especially websites’ security and balancing the employment systems. There is ample evidence that it is high time we managed time and leisure activities on social networks to minimize consequences.