Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a contentious argument over whether youngsters must do community jobs or not. Some people argue that it is beneficial for both society and youngsters. This essay will examine this debate from both points of view and then explain why its advantages outweigh its drawbacks.

There are numerous benefits in making the younger generation do some community work. The most obvious one is developing a sense of responsibility. In this case, they have to take care of some tasks on a regular basis. For instance, when a teenager is given the responsibility of shopping for an elder one, she or he understands the daily life of the care receiver is dependent on their task accomplishment. Otherwise, there will be some serious consequences. The second positive result of compulsory community work can be a healthier society. In this way, almost everyone is taking part in helping each other. No one will feel lonely because they are being accompanied by young ones. The young generation is acquiring the required skills and experiences through contributing to social tasks. Adults find more free time to take of their own business. As a result, everyone is content and happy. Some other people believe this type of work must be done voluntarily. Otherwise, the teenager may develop hatred. This is because community works are boring in nature and are not age-appropriate for teenagers. If teenagers are made to participate in this type of program against their will, they may develop bad feelings and in a later stages of their lives, they may hesitate to play a role in community works.

In conclusion, I tend to believe both arguments have their own merits. On balance, however, I believe teenagers must be given various responsibilities including community work, in this way we possibly have a healthier society.