Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarranted, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

In today’s modern world, the proliferation of animal testing has led to some controversial ideas in the public. While some people believe that this act is inhumane, others support its tremendous benefits. From my point of view, although there are some ethical-related problems to researches on animals for the sake of humans, I am of the opinion that this is a necessary evil.

On the one hand, there are a myriad of reasons why animal experiments are unethical and unwarranted. The first thing to notice is that people will subject the animals to suffering, excruciating pain and even death during the researches. As there are several vivisections on the specimens, the animals such as mice or monkeys will certainly go through trauma and the ramifications of those experiments are overwhelmed. As a result, the researched animals have better living conditions and their generations can deteriorate.As a matter of fact, humans have no rights to violate other species’ chances to live and nourish. Moreover, those sacrifies may even for nothing as not every animal bears the same ailments as human such as cancer, HIV, schizophrenia and scientists have to induce the symptoms on the subjects. Paradoxically, the outcomes will be erroneous and the trials on human will fail.

On the other, I tend towards the bight sides that the researches on animals can bring to human beings. One thing worth considering is that animal testing can assist with the appearance of life-saving drugs. Thanks to the fact that some animals bear close resemblance to human, the scientists can rely on those cells and structures to make researches and invests medicines. The test on chimpanzees exemplifies this the clearest when it provided the base for the hepatitis vaccine. Furthermore, animal testing is not only helpful in creating vaccines and drugs but it can also underpin the process of researching with less amount of time needed. Apparently, the life cycle of animals is shorter, so the scientists can do research on different generations of mice or monkeys more conveniently and constructively. Thus, they can save astronomical time and money as well as bring the cures to people more quickly.

In conclusion, while there are both good done and harm done to animal-based experiments, I am convinced that people can take great advantages from them including better life saving drugs, more appropriate samples and time-saving research subjects.