Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people’s behavior. What is your opinion?

There is no denying that violence is one of the biggest concerns in society. In light of this, violence in television and computer games has become a topic of general interest among citizens. Although some people believe this element would not cause any considerable impact on how people act, I would argue that this might have a harmful influence on society.

Some people give a reason why there is no concern about whether violence on television and video games would harm people’s behaviour. An advocate of this opinion might argue that people are still aware of the border between reality and illusion. Watching television and playing games are favourable ways for people to entertain after long hours of working and devoting themselves. Therefore, after relaxing and returning to the working routine, most individuals will no longer pay attention and care about what they used to interact with, which is violence from the media. However, if people approach violence on television and games with a thick frequency, they might addict and admire characters they love. This leads to people having similar actions just because they are familiar with that and as a way to show their affection to the characters.

In my opinion, violence in television and computer games has a damaging effect on the community. This is because people will become emotionless toward the social victims. Accessing many violent factors from the discussed media results in a loss of sympathy and understanding for people who are in trouble. Violence from games and television is usually pessimistic when characters are admired for being violent, as it is a signal for the strong. Therefore, this develops for people a distorted mindset and immoral behaviours. For instance, many people engage in a fight just to express themselves.

In conclusion, violence from television and games will lead individuals to harmful values as they would stop feeling sympathy for people around them. Although playing games and watching the television are how people relax, one should limit the frequency so they will not face the risky impact.