Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there is a controversy whether history brings us value in this day or not. In my point of view, I agree that it is difficult to learn something from history, however, if we consider the past more elaborately, there are many things we still can obtain from it.

On the one hand, the world has been changing and transforming immediately, so there is an enormous difference between the modern world and the ancient world that makes it troublesome for people to learn and apply value from the past. Firstly, the changes in humanity are a part contributing to this transformation. People in this modernized world have had new mindsets and lifestyles so the old-fashioned stories, which contain old mentalities and situations, are not suitable for people in this era. Secondly, the civilization and ethic of the human race have seen a transition to become more civilized. Hence, in one circumstance, in terms of ethics, the story in the past is wrong while it is right in the present.

On the other hand, people still can attain some lessons from the past if they have a subtle approach and know when we can apply it. Reading and thinking elaborately is a primary key to see the underlying meaning of the stories in history. Because of the difference between the past and the present, people need to read and think about the stories in the past in a more abstract way rather than a simple way. Besides, subtlety is needed to totally comprehend the nature of the stories and learn how to use what we learn in order to apply it to life. For instance, people cannot use the lesson learned from history carelessly just because of the resemblance between the one in the past and the one in the present.

In conclusion, learning from the past is hard and complicated. Nevertheless, people still can do it if they enrich their knowledge as well as approach history in a more subtle way.